Category: Archive

Around the Links Whelan, Dunleavy capture Country Bank tournament

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

John Whelan and Tony Dunleavy (62) combined to win the Country Bank-sponsored member-guest best-ball tournament held recently at the Links at Union Vale. Mike McIntyre and Morge McIntyre were one back, followed by Hugh Casey and Ann Casey, then Joe Hickey and John McMahon.

Brian Duggan had the longest drive on the eighth hole and John Foley on the 17th. Pat Fallon was closest to the pin on the third hole, while Frank O’Shea was closest on 7, Tom Farrell on 10 and Liam O’Connor on 12.


Julia and Juim Hagerty paced the field in the recent Guinness-Harp stableford best-ball event at Union Vale.

Next was the team of Pat Costigan and Liam Gleeson, followed by Jim Naughton and Terry Connaughton, and then Jim Fleming ands Sean Fleming.

Jim Peck (73) was the Calloway system winner, followed by Jim Henry, Chris Strehl and Bill Noron.

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

Jim O’Rourke had the longest drive on the eighth hole and Paul Hamilton on the 17th. Owen Donaghy was closest to the pin on 3, Tony Dunleavy on 7, Dick O’Hara on 10 and Joe Casenella on 12.


Gerry McQuaid outdueled Mary O’Dwyer, Donnie O’Dwyer and Ambrose O’Connell to win the Budweiser-sponsored singles stableford event at Union Vale. Connie Kelly was the low-gross winner, followed by Jim Fleming and Brian Duggan. Al Ramos was the Calloway system winner, with Pat Freeman second and Justin O’Halloran third.

David Anderson had the longest drive on 8 and John Foley on 17. Ambrose O’Connell was closest to the pin on 3, Pat Cullen on 7, Dennis O’Dwyer on 10 and Tom Bennett on 12.


The team of Adam Olic, Gary Adams, Manny Busto and Debbie Carroll captured the Heinekin-sponsored four-ball scramble at Union Vale.

Finishing second was the team of Phil Denning, Paul Refferty, John Ryan and Owen Donaghy.

The longest drive on 8 belonged to Rob Johnson, while Bernie Linnane was longest on 15. Matt Duggan was closest to the pin on 3, Tom McMahon on 7, Mary Gleason on 10 and Art Murphy on 12.


Pat Peters fired a 66 to take low-gross honors at last week’s Gaelic Club tournament at Blue Hills. Pat McGovern and Bob Condon were each a stroke back. John and Joe Hickey will compete in the MGA/Met Life men’s net championship at Brooklake on July 2.

In an earlier Gaelic Club tournament, at Union Vale, Mike McIntyre’s 71 was a stroke better than Jim Hegarty for low-net honors. Joe Hickey’s 81 captured the low gross. Frank O’Shea was closest to the pin on 7 and Tommie O’Farrell on 10.

Hickey, McIntrye, Hegarty, Bernie Linnane and Noel Kelly qualified for the Guinness-Bass tournament at Bethpage.

In the doubles semifinals, it was John Spallin and Mike Codyre over Jack Jones and Kevin Kelly, and Pat McGovern and Frank Clohessy over John Dunleavy and Joe Roche. The winners will play for the championship on July 7 at Highbridge.

New York Irish

John Coffey’s 68 made him the low-gross winner at the recent New York Irish Guinness-Bass qualifier at Union Vale. Coffey was followed by Michael Tuohy, Sheila Finn and Mike Caraven. Peter Caffrey was the low-gross winner, followed by Darren McGuire. Mike Shaw was closest to the pin on 10, while Joan Kelly had the longest drive on 17.

St. Philp Neri

Sharon Mooney’s low-net 59 captured the recent St. Philip Neri tournament at Van Cartlandt. Ed Dooley (61) had the second low net, followed by Joan McCarthy (62). Lynn Torrey and Chad Vaughan had the longest drives, while Justin Minieri was nearest the pin on 11 and Tom Moran on 13.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese