Category: Archive

Camogie: Mayo capture Fitzgerald Cup

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Mayo 3-6, Cavan 2-5

In a well-contested game, Mayo captured the Barry Fitzgerald Cup in the Budweiser-sponsored fourth annual 7-a-side competition on Saturday in Van Cortlandt Park.

The finalists had met earlier, in the first game of the tournament, with Cavan prevailing. But Mayo were determined to take a title home this year, having narrowly lost to Cavan in a close encounter in the Anne Kearney Cup a few weeks ago.

Both teams showed no signs of having played four tough games throughout the day and gave everything until the final whistle in a very entertaining final for those who remained to watch.

Mayo panel: Sharon Gallagher (captain), Ann Marie McGrail, Ellen McGrail, Teresa O’Malley, Celia Huane, Fiona Ward, Camie O’Shea, Elaine O’Donovan, Cathy McKenna, Joanne McKenna, Mary Toolan, J. Harvey.

Cavan panel: Karen Shalvey (captain), Sharon Levins, Olive Lynch, Ger Mahon, Rosie Reilly, Pauline Coleman, Deirdre Maher, Justine Clifford, Caroline O’Sullivan, Deirdre Feeney, Ger Finn, Olive Wilson.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

MVP Barry Fitzgerald Cup final: Ellen McGrail; (Mayo)

The presentations were made afterward in the Lansdowne which was followed by a disco in aid of the N.Y. Ladies All Star Fund. Budweiser sponsored the trophies for the event and Barry Fitzgerald also sponsored windbreakers for the tournament winners.

Louie O’Hehir Shield

Na Fianna 2-7, An Chiarrai 0-5

The Louie O’Hehir Shield was contested by Na Fianna and An Chiarrai with Na Fianna emerging victors. MVP Louie O’Hehir Shield final: Alison Lineen (Na Fianna).

The teams

Seven teams took part in the competition, divided into two divisions:

Division 1: Leitrim, Philadelphia Eagles (holders), An Chiarrai.

Division 2: Cavan, Mayo, Na Fianna, Monaghan

Leitrim and Philadelphia Eagles qualified from Div. I and

Cavan and Mayo qualified from Div. 2. Mayo defeated the holders Philadelphia in the first semifinal, 1-7 to 1-3, and Cavan overcame Leitrim in the other semifinal, 5-3 to 1-7.

Leinster win Railway Cup

The Railway cup final, after three attempts, finally produced a result when Leinster defeated Ulster on Thursday in Van Cortlandt Park. Afterward, president Terry Connaughton was about to call on the Cup sponsor Rose Dunican to present the Cup to the winning captain only to find out that Rose was the captain of the Leinster side. The Railway Cup was sponsored by Rose Dunican in memory of her father.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese