Category: Archive

Cork dispatch Sligo with ease

February 17, 2011

By Staff Reporter

JP Boyle compounded Sligo’s woes at the start of the second half netting a goal within the first minute. Cork’s midfield prowess was proving to be the focal point of Sligo’s inability to gain possession. It was Pat Mahoney this time who would picked out Boyle. Sligo settled down after the goal and played considerable better than they had in the first half. After twenty minutes of play, they lead the scoring five points to four. Niall Moran was accurate from his frees to take credit for three of the five Sligo points The confidence building run of play was soon halted as Cork reasserted themselves back into the match. Cork pushed the contest further out of reach in the final ten minutes as they rattled off five unanswered points to finish the match off in dominating style.
Man of the Match: J.P. Boyle
Cork: Evan Byrne Paddy Harrington David Cromins Denis McCarthy Jack Hoare Sean Lordan Liam Hanley Alan Raftery Pat Mahoney Derek Courtney JP Boyle Conor Hunter Nicky Dineen Colin Daly Francie Cleary SUBS Kieran Potter Eoin Ellis Stephen Gomez Rory Stafford Shay Furlong Donie Broderick Stephen O’Shea Gary O’Donoghue
Sligo: Dermot Fleming Peter Kelly Tim Woods Denis Kilkenny Colm Byrne Sean Pender Roy Henley Niall Higgins Paul Kelly Niall Moran Conor Brady Paddy Brennan Nestor Allen Bryan Quinlan Michael Long.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese