Category: Archive

Costigan wins Tipp tourney

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Pat Costigan outplayed 73 other players to capture the recent annual Tipperary N&B Association golf tournament, held at the Links at Union Vale. Liam Gleeson was the low gross winner. Don O’Dwyer had the longest ball. Joe Ryan took the Calloway, and the top three Stableford winners were Liam Hickey, Ian Conroy and Jer Ryan. The women’s winners were Patricia Morrissey, Breda Cullagh, Mary Gleeson, Mary Margaret Hickey and Francis Darcy.

Crown City

Paul Kiernan fired a low net 66 to win the recent Crown City Memorial tournament, held at the Links at Union Vale. Second net went to Horton Foote, followed by Kieran Connell and Tom Goodwin. Jeff Teasdale shot a low net 74, was closest to the pin on 3 and hit the longest drive, on 15. Also closest to the pin were Liam Gleeson, on 7, John Neenan, n 10, and Paddy Donohue, on 12.


Jimmy Keaney Sr. was low net and Tim Hegarty second net at the recent Gaelic club tournament at Blue Hill. Ben Hickey and Joe Roche were closest to the pin. Hegarty was the low gross Guinness qualifier and Bernie Linnane the alternate. Low nets went to Keaney, Vinnie McCabe, Linnane and Pat Spellman.

In another Gaelic Club event, women captured the top three places in a Father’s Day tournament at the Links at Unionvale. Bette O’Shea shot the low net and Margaret McIntyre second net, while Bernie Linnane was low gross, followed by Austin Lowry and Pat Hickey. James Mulcahy and Ben Hickey were closest to the pin.

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

Emerald Golf Society

Charlie Byrne overcame 59 opponents and windy conditions to win the Emerald Golf Society’s Annual Memorial Tournament at the Links at Union Vale Steve Murphy fired the low gross. Martin Murphy was second net, followed by Steve Murphy and Paul Kiernan. Martin Gleeson was closest to the pin on the third hole, while Pat Lynch was closest on 7, Noel Coughlan on 10 and Steve McConnell on 12. Ken Madden had the longest drive. Steve Murphy, Byrne, Kiernan and Leo Kehoe qualified for the Guinness team, with Kevin Rogers the alternate. The club’s annual Mick Morrissey Classic will be held Thursday, July 25, at Union Vale.


Chris Esernio’s 61 was low net, and his overall 83 low gross, at a recent Inisfada club event at the Bethpage Green course. Ray Kitson was second net, followed by George Yostpile, Bill McConnell and George Neuman. Syl Nugest was second gross and Shane Walsh third. Wes Adams was closest to the pin on 15 and Esernio hit the longest drive, on 8.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese