Category: Archive

GAA Roundup Crossmolina retain Connacht club title

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mark Jones

DUBLIN — Losing their main attacker, Kieran McDonald, because of injury in the opening minutes and then having wing back Patrick McAndrew sent off just after the interval, you would have feared for Crossmolina’s hopes of success in last Sunday’s Connacht club football final. But in the end, the Mayo side were hardly troubled by their setbacks as they cruised to an emphatic 1-10 to 0-5 victory over Corofin of Galway.

So it proved to be a surprisingly comfortable defense of their provincial title by Crossmolina and, in reality, the margin of victory on home territory could have been far wider. Perhaps because of their overall dominance, the winners shot a total of 12 wides as Corofin struggled to find their best form.

Due possibly to a recent crammed schedule, the Galway champions looked jaded and they only managed to serve up token resistance as James Nallen and Michael Moyles controlled the game from midfield. Corofin’s first score didn’t arrive until the 19th minute, by which stage Liam Moffatt, who had replaced McDonald, had already flicked home Crossmolina’s goal.

Despite having the advantage of the wind, Corofin were four points adrift at halftime and Crossmolina were quick to press home their advantage by increasing the lead to 10 points coming up to the final whistle. Kieran Comer and Michael Donnellan kicked late scores for the losers.

Munster semis

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

Both Munster football semi-finals were staged last weekend with Glenfesk of Kerry and Cork’s Nemo Rangers booking their places in the decider. Inspired by county stars Seamus Moynihan and John Crowley, Glenfesk were too strong for Moyle Rovers of Tipperary, running out winners by 1-9 to 0-8.

Nemo turned on the style during the second half to overwhelm the Clare champions, Eire Og, by 2-10 to 0-5 in Ennis. Even without the influential Colin Corkery, Nemo dominated the game after the break to win by a comfortable 11 points.

The Leinster finalists were also settled with reigning champions, Na Fianna of Dublin, coming through to meet Carlow’s O’Hanrahan’s. Although Na Fianna’s margin of victory over Offaly’s Rhode in Newbridge looked comfortable, the 0-16 to 0-9 scoreline was hardly a true reflection of a hard-fought game. Two late points by Pa Kavanagh and Brian Walker gave O’Hanrahan’s a place in the provincial decider for the first time as they dramatically edged out Moorefield of Kildare at Portlaoise by 0-12 to 0-11.


Sixmilebridge of Clare qualified to meet Waterford’s Mount Sion in the Munster hurling final when they edged out Limerick club, Patrickswell, by 0-13 to 0-12 at the Gaelic Grounds. Deep into injury time, Patrickswell had a chance to equalize when they were awarded a 65, but Gary Kirby, who most people would have expected to take the free, had injured his shoulder and it was left it to teenager Eoin Foley, whose shot drifted to the right of the target.

Fermanagh 3-15, Wicklow 2-6

With next year’s football championship set for a revamp, the All-Ireland B title may be consigned to history, but Fermanagh gave themselves a confidence boost with a victory over Wicklow in this season’s final at Navan.

On the back of a disappointing start to the league campaign, Fermanagh badly needed a lift and this success was inspired by full forward Stephen Maguire, who contributed 2-4.

Wicklow, who had goals from Mark Coffey and Keith Byrne, were chasing the game as early as the 30th minute, when they trailed by 9 points.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese