Category: Archive

GAA Roundup Revived Sligo shock Meath

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mark Jones

Meath may have been understrength, but no one was expecting their shock 3-11 to 2-13 loss Sligo in last Sunday’s dramatic Div. 1B National Football League game at Markievicz Park.

Despite the absence of Trevor Giles and John McDermott, Meath appeared to be coasting early in the second half, by which stage the All-Ireland champions had built a 7-point lead, but they hadn’t bargained for a stunning Sligo revival.

The deficit was quickly reduced by some accurate Paul Taylor shooting before Taylor himself leveled the scores with a superbly taken goal five minutes from the end. However, Sligo weren’t finished and Dessie Sloyane blasted home another goal to give his side the sweetest of victories.

The result was nowhere near as surprising but there was still plenty of tension at Newbridge, where the division’s two leading counties, Kildare and Derry, played out a 1-10 to 2-7 draw.

The game’s vital score, an equalizing point by Kildare’s Karl O’Dwyer three minutes into injury time, was shrouded in controversy. Substitute Aidan McHugh was challenged by several Derry defenders and Brian White decided to award a free much to the dissatisfaction of Derry manager, Eamonn Coleman.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

"If the game had been in Ballinascreen, that free probably would’ve been awarded to Derry," suggested Coleman. The two teams now share top spot as the only unbeaten counties in the division.

Clare 1-10, Down 1-10

Clare and Down both earned their first points of the competition with a 1-10 draw at Kilmihil. Clare had dominated the opening exchanges and at one stage they were four points clear, but Down worked their way back into the game and substitute Ciaran McCabe grabbed the equalizing score in injury time.

Mayo 1-15, Fermanagh 0-9

New Mayo manager Pat Holmes saw his faith in several young players rewarded at Crossmolina as the Connacht champions eased past Fermanagh by 1-15 to 0-9. Newcomers Kevin Filan and Stephen Carolan quickly made strong impressions in an experimental forward line. Filan hit 1-4 while Carolan kicked four points.

Cork 1-12, Roscommon 3-4

In Div. 1A, Cork were dealt a hammer blow as Roscommon took the points by 1-12 to 3-4 at Hyde Park. At first it looked as if Roscommon were going to win with some ease as Derek Duggan repeatedly found the target, but after the break, Cork responded with goals by Bernie Collins and Mark Lewis to draw level.

In fact, Cork might have hit the front only for Philip Clifford to see his penalty effort canon off the crossbar. A draw was looking increasingly likely when suddenly Roscommon found some injury time inspiration as substitutes Bernie Butler and Eddie Lohan kicked the winning points.

Kerry 2-19, Tyrone 1-9

Kerry moved to the top of the table on scoring average following a comprehensive 2-19 to 1-9 victory over Tyrone at Tralee. Liam Hassett and Noel Kennelly each scored 1-2 as Kerry ran riot during a hopelessly one-sided second half.

Galway 0-14, Donegal 0-7

Galway also registered a second victory of the campaign when they saw off the challenge of Donegal at Ballybofey. It finished 0-14 to 0-7, but Donegal had long periods of dominance which were ruined by a damaging total of 21 wides.

Dublin 0-14, Armagh 0-6

Dublin didn’t have to be anywhere near their best to defeat a thoroughly disappointing Armagh side by 0-14 to 0-6 at Parnell Park. Dublin certainly improved from their opening defeat by Tyrone. However, Armagh badly missed their Crossmaglen Rangers contingent as they stumbled to a second successive loss.

Divs. 2A, 2B

Westmeath and Offaly kept up their 100 percent records. Westmeath were easy 3-18 to 0-3 winners over London, while Offaly edged out Wicklow by 0-10 to 0-8. Laois are the only unbeaten team in Div. 2B after a 0-12 to 0-11 close call against Monaghan.

Club scene

On the club front, St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield of Clare made it into the Munster championship final when they defeated Tipperary’s Toomevara by 2-11 to 0-12 at Thurles. Reigning All-Ireland champions St. Joseph’s now meet Ballgunner of Waterford in the Munster decider.

Ballygunner upset favorites Blackrock of Cork by 0-17 to 1-11 at Walsh Park, while the Leinster semifinals saw victories for Offaly’s Birr over Glenmore of Kilkenny by 1-12 to 1-8 and for Castletown of Laois who beat Wexford’s St. Martin’s by 1-14 to 1-9.

In football, UCC clinched their ninth Cork title with 1-11 to 1-8 win over Nemo Rangers in the replayed decider, while Tyrrellspass defeated the reigning Westmeath champions Athlone by 2-6 to 1-7.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese