OLDEST IRISH AMERICAN NEWSPAPER IN USA, ESTABLISHED IN 1928
Category: Archive

Hunt continues for Fleadh talent

February 15, 2011

By Staff Reporter

The search goes on.

The Guinness Fleadh Band Search returns to New York to give local musical talent the chance to make the big break, and a shot at playing in the second annual fleadh on Randall’s Island.

Taking place on June 13 and 14, the fleadh is a celebration of traditional and modern Irish music, with performers covering the spectrum of Irish culture. Sinead O’Connor, Cumbawama, The Chieftains, the Saw Doctor, Shane McGowan and The Corrs, to name a few.

Such was the success of last year’s event that the festival will now also make stops at Chicago and San Francisco.

In search of local talent to join the international line-up, Guinness have sifted through hundreds of demo tapes. The semi-finals are already underway and now hopefuls will battle it out in the finals. For further details, call (203) 359-7247. Here is the remaining schedule:

New York Semifinals

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

Saturday, May 16 – Paddy Reilly’s, 519 Second Ave., NYC.

Saturday, May 30 – The Lansdowne, 6159 Broadway, NYC.

New York Finals

Friday, June 5 – Connolly’s Pub, 14 East 47th St., NYC.

Boston Finals

Saturday, May 16 – The Burren, 247 Elm St. Davis Sq., Somerville, Mass. (Winners must compete in New York finals to win Fleadh place.)

Chicago Semifinals

Friday, May 15 – Gunther Murphy’s, 1638 West Belmont.

Friday, May 29 – Kenny’s Tavern, 917 B West 55th, Countryside, Ill.

Saturday, May 30 – Hoghead McDunnas, 1505 W. Fullerton.

Chicago Finals

Saturday, June 6 – The Abbey, 3420 W. Grace.

San Francisco Prelims

Saturday, May 16 – Plough and Stars, 116 Clement St.

Sunday, May 17 – Fibber McGee’s, 156 South Murphy Ave..

Saturday, May 23 – The Blarney Stone, 5701 Geary Blvd..

Sunday, May 24 – Larry Blake’s 2365 Telegraph Ave., Berkeley.

San Fran Semifinals

Saturday, May 30 – Beach Street Bar, 2601 Leavenworth St.

Sunday, May 31 – Last Day Saloon, 406 Clement St.

Sunday, June 7 – Bottom of the Hill, 1235, 17th St.

San Fran Finals

Saturday, June 13 – The Justice League, 828 Divisadero St..

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese