Category: Archive

Ladies GAA season opens this Sunday

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

The new structure New York ladies regular season kicks off with the Peter Connaughton and Louie O’Hehir championship on this Sunday, April 9, in Paddy’s Field.

The structure of the championship is different this year with Fermanagh, Donegal, Monaghan, Rockland and Stamford competing for the a new cup, Peter Connaughton Memorial Cup, and Cavan, Leitrim, Mayo and Na Fianna competing for the Louie O’Hehir Memorial Shield. These competitions will run on a points only basis with the team with the top points taking either trophy.

The points are carried forward to the Sean Faherty Championship where teams will play against the teams they haven’t met already.

1st Round, Peter Connaughton & Louie O’Hehir Championship, 1:30 p.m., Cavan vs Mayo; 2:45 p.m., Rockland vs Stamford; 4 p.m., Na Fianna vs Leitrim; and 5:15 p.m., Monaghan vs Donegal.

Railway Cup semifinals

In the Railway Cup semi finals on Sunday in Paddy’s Field, Ulster got a walkover as Connaught did not field a team.

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

Munster defeated Leinster.

The final will be played on Sunday April 23.

Munster 7-11, Leinster 1-1

Munster dominated the game with their forwards in top form taking their scores from all angles.

Leinster were unfortunate not to have the full 15 on the field, making it difficult for them to recover from the constant pressure Munster put them under.

Best for Munster were Pat Meade, Eibhlish Dineen, Helena Campion Munster scores by: Eibhlish Dineen 2-1, Pat Meade 2-4, Helena Campion 1-1, Ann Murray 1-1, Maree Maloney 1-1, Una Rice-Kennedy 0-1, Teresa Mahoney 0-1

Best for Leinster were Mary Maguire, Sadie Bolger, Mary Tuohey Leinster scores by: Mary Maguire 1-0, Mary Tuohey 0-1

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese