Category: Archive

Late point salvages draw for Thurles

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Mullinahone, bidding for a first-ever title, were on the verge of history when Sarsfields’ substitute Pat Lawlor fired over the crucial point with the last puck of the game. Inspired by player-manager John Leahy, as well as Brian O’Meara and Eoin Kelly, Mullinahone were in control of the contest after 45 minutes at which stage they led by 0-12 to 0-6, however, the introduction of Matthew O’Dowd and Lawlor added a new edge to the Sarsfields’ attack. The replay is scheduled for Sunday.
Sixemilebridge captured a 10th Clare championship when they defeated arch-rivals Clarecastle by 3-10 to 2-8 at Cusack Park. With John Reddan in outstanding form, the 5-point winning margin failed to reflect Sixmilebridge’s all round dominance. Reddan, Cyril Crowe and sub John O’Meara had the winners’ goals.
Meanwhile, in football, Corofin were comprehensive winners of the Galway title with a 3-11 to 2-2 victory over Annaghdown at Salthill. The contest was virtually over by the 17th minute with Corofin leading by 1-5 to no score, and even if Annaghdown battled back bravely, the gap was always too great.
In Limerick, Monaleen bridged a 24-year gap by winning a first title since 1968 with a narrow 1-10 to 1-9 success against Adare in a replay at the Gaelic Grounds. Muiris Gavin was the winners’ main scorer with six points. There was another tight contest at Dungarvan where Stradbally retained the Waterford championship following a 0-12 to 0-10 win over The Nire.
Also, there was little to shout about as the low-key Railway Cup finals were played out last weekend. Leinster triumphed in hurling at Nowlan Park where a late Henry Shefflin point was the key to a narrow 4-15 to 3-17 win over Munster. In football, Leinster also had the upper hand defeating Ulster by 1-14 to 2-9 at Pearse Stadium.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese