Category: Archive

Mayo trounce Roscommon behind Horan

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Peter T. Nolan

Mayo 3-8

Roscommon 0-6

The Senior B Division, which so often has served up the best match of the day, disappointed on Sunday as Mayo saw off a weak Roscommon challenge at Gaelic Park. Neither team showed much precision early on, but slowly Mayo warmed to the task.

New York panelist Brendan Horan was in fine form and had eager running mates in Ronan McGarrity, Lee Kelly and Kevin Tuohy. Tuohy opened the scoring after 10 scoreless minutes. McGarrity’s long-range score seemed to inspire Mayo and Horan and Tuohy stretched their advantage to 0-4 to 0-0.

Mayo then strung together seven passes before full forward Brian Maloney found the Roscommon net. Roscommon were in disarray and Mayo kept the pressure on. Horan’s goal pushed Mayo’s lead to 2-6 to 0-0. Finally, with 14 seconds showing on the Gaelic Park scoreboard, Lorcan Down pointed to take the goose egg off the board before the half.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Roscommon, to their credit, were much better in the second half, particularly Dowd and James Martin. But Roscommon’s first-half doldrums were too much to overcome and Mayo were easy winners.

Man of the match: Brendan Horan.

Mayo: John Browne, Niall McMahon, David Collaran, Kenneth McMahon, Eamon McEvoy (1-0), Lee Kelly, Peter McGenly, John Grimes (0-1), Ronan McGarrity (0-1), Mark O’Connnell, Brendan Horan (1-2), Kevin Touhy (0-2), Liam Gallagher, Brian Maloney (1-1), Liam McDonald (0-1).

Roscommon: Mike Deere, Noel Foley, John Santry, Joe Naughton, Roy Henley, Kevin Keane, Declan Coyne, Tim Coakley, John McFadden, James Martin (0-3), Lorcan Dowd (0-3), Peter McNamee, Gavin Trimble, Paul Scannell, Aiden Murray.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese