Category: Archive

Metro golfers vie for Harp Open bidAugust 25-31, 1999

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Seventeen five-man teams from the Irish Metropolitan Golf Association will compete next week to take part in the Harp Lager Open tournament, which will take place Sept. 21-26 in Ireland.

Guinness Import Company is sponsoring the regional qualifier, which will take place Thursday, Sept. 2, at the Bethpage State Park Golf Complex on Long Island.

Each New York-area club will be represented in the final qualifying event by a team comprising its own first low gross, first low net, second low net, third low net and fourth low net scores.

The winning team will travel to Ireland for the Harp Lager Open, which will be played at Druid’s Glen, the site of last year’s Irish Open; Baltray, Co. Louth, one of the best links courses in Ireland, and The Links at Portmarnock, a Bernhard Langer-designed course near Dublin.

"The game of golf and Guinness are synonymous with Ireland," said Connie Doolan, director of trade relations for North America at the Stamford, Conn.-based Guinness Import Company. "Through this Harp Lager sponsorship, we are pleased to encourage a spirit of friendly competition among so many enthusiastic players."

Here are the qualifying players from the affiliated societies who will participate in the Sept. 2 event at Bethpage:

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Crown City G.C.: Pat O’Toole, Dick O’Hara, Tim Cronin, Martin Dunn, Paddy Walsh.

Woodlawn G.C.: Chris Claffey, Tom O’Meara, Barney Breen, Dennis O’Sullivan, Steve McCrimcisk.

Innis Fada G.C.: Syl Nugent, Bud Traynor, Chris Bracken, Kenny Lutz, Pat O’Hanlon.

National G.C.: Carl Eifert, Kenny Hynes, Billy Jankowski, Dennis Ahern, Howie Shack.

Irish American G.C.: Pat Browne,

Shamrock G.C.: Des Costello, John Koppenhoffer, Pat Fox, Martin Ross, Bob Delrymple.

Gaelic G.C.: Pat Peters, Bob Condon, Joe Roche, Frank O’Shea, Pat Hickey.

Emerald G.C.: Paul Keirnan, Noel Coughlan, Dennis O’Sullivan, Pat McMorrow, Deveer Reynolds.

Mac’s G.C.: Brendan Foley, Keith Finerty, Dennis Ring, James Duffy, Padraig Keown.

Celtic G.C.: Pat Yourke, Tony Wolenski, Joe Waldron, Mike Mason, Danny Keenan.

Belfast G.C.: Anthony Cummings, Gabe Cummings, Pat Kensek, Billy Brex, Vinny Cummings.

Innisfail G.C.: Declan Gallagher, Mike Curran, Joe Ryan, Pat Fergus, Kevin O’Sullivan.

St. Philip Neri G.C.: Sean O’Sullivan, Sheila Finn, John Finn, Maggie Dunn, Mike Glendon.

Tri County G.C.: Kenny Fanning, John DiLochery, Jim Reardon, Nevilde O’Farrell, Tim Pasterino.

Hibernian G.C.: Richie Gilfoyle, John Fahey, Tom Curtin, Eamon Gilfoyle, Mark Winters.

Cavan G.C.: Gerry Reilly, Ray Conlon, Con Smith, P.J. McGuire, Phil Daly.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese