Category: Archive

Minor Board Rockland take U14 title

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

In the Under-14 Championship Final at Gaelic Park on Sunday, Rockland defeated St. Barnabas 2-13 to 0-1. The Rockland boys gave a brilliant display, unselfishly passing the ball to create many scoring chances. Eight players contributed to the winners’ tally of scores. But it was at midfield and their half-back line that the foundation for victory was set. The defense stymied the Woodlawn boys time after time.

The Rockland team was Mike O’Connor (captain), Brian Meaney, Brian Canty, Shane Hogan 0-1, James Donahue, Ray Bader, Chris Mangan 0-4, Declan Neville 0-2, Greg Loftus 1-0, Billy Cosgrove, Brendan Fennell 1-3, Brian Rocco 0-1, Sean Murphy and Tom McVeigh, substitutes Shaun Dunne 0-1, Tom Moore, Mike Cannon 0-1, Kevin Spellman and Terence Moore.

The St. Barnabas team was Jim Nellis, Brendan Mulroy, Eamon Duffy, Anthony Calarco, Greg Bogner, Andrew Donoghue, Matt Brady, Neil Brouder, David Hannon 0-1, Barry Sullivan, Daryl Beirne, Kevin Hannon, Greg Harrison, Billy Slattery and Joey Graziosa.

The Player of the Year for the Under-14 Division for 1998 is Rockland’s Chris Mangan.

Omitted from last week’s New York All-Star Under-14 itinerary was mention of a friendly match to be played in Leixlip, Co. Kildare, against Jack O’Shea’s local St. Mary’s club, on Monday evening July 6. The team returns to New York on Tuesday, July 7. Omitted from the list of players was Sean Murphy of Rockland.

Under-16 semi-finals were held midweek, with the Rangers and St. Barnabas playing to a 0-7 to 1-4 draw at Paddy’s Field and St. Joseph’s defeating Rockland by 2-10 to 2-7.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

The Rangers vs St. Barnabas game was an excellent affair. St. Barnabas had fine performances from Darren Meaney 1-1, Ciaran Moyles 0-1, Johnny Keenan 0-1, Padraig Tully 0-1, and Michael Divo. Players excelling in the Rangers blue were Niall Duggan 0-4, Justin Williams 0-2, super center-halfback Brian Morris 0-1 and Gary Cullinan.

The other semifinal was a nail biter from start to finish. Both teams played determined football, and the game was not decided until St. Joseph’s struck for two well-taken second-half goals. Rockland replied with a late goal, but found themselves three points short at the finish.

Best for the winners were Pat McGuire, Mike Creegan, Ian Young, Gerry Gillespie, outstanding goalkeeper Mike Murray, and player of the game, fullback Chris Dello.

Rockland’s best were Declan Neville, Tom Foley, Dermot Hogan, Jeff Gartner, James Donahue and goalkeeper Shane Hogan.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese