Category: Archive

Mitchell scholarship winners named

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Twelve George J. Mitchell Scholars have been named in a nationwide competition for a year of post-graduate study at universities in Ireland and Northern Ireland. Now entering its third year, the Mitchell Scholarship program identifies outstanding young Americans with the qualities of academic distinction, leadership and community service. Administered by the U.S.-Ireland Alliance, a non-profit organization based in Washington, D.C., the program is named in honor of the pivotal role played by the former U.S. Senate Majority Leader in the Northern Ireland peace process.

The newly selected Mitchell Scholars for the 2002-2003 academic year include: Matthew Alexander, Wenatachee, Wash. (University of Ulster); Mariyam Cementwala, Bakersfield, Calif. (National University of Ireland, Maynooth); Jeannie Huh, Capitola, Calif. (Trinity College Dublin); Emily Mark, Los Angeles (Trinity College Dublin); Georgia Miller, Little Rock, Ark. (University of Ulster); Joanna Pearson, Shelby, N.C. (University College Dublin); Seena Perumal, Dover Plains, N.Y. (National University of Ireland, Galway); Davin Quinn, Des Moines, Iowa (Queen’s University, Belfast); Mark Tosso, Randolph, N.J. (Dublin City University); Sarah Wagner-McCoy, Sunnyside, N.Y. (University College Dublin), and Amanda Wetzel, Lansdale, Pa. (Queen’s University, Belfast).

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese