Category: Archive

Mullinahone secure first Tipperary hurling title

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Led brilliantly by player-coach John Leahy, it was the inspirational scoring of Eoin Kelly that turned the contest Mullinahone’s way. Trailing by 7 points coming up towards the interval, the winners staged an impressive fightback with Kelly hitting a superb personal total of 2-7 to consign Sarsfields to a third final defeat in succession.
Galway’s showdown between two of the county’s strongest clubs proved to be something of a damp squib as Athenry got the better of Sarsfields by 1-16 to 3-7 at Pearse Stadium. Eugene Cloonan’s nine points, including six frees, and 1-4 from David Donohue gave Athenry the edge.
In football, Kerins O’Rallihy’s ended 45 years in the wilderness by clinching the Kerry title with an impressive 0-14 to 0-5 win over Kilcummin at Killarney. Coached by former great, Eoin “Bomber” Liston, O’Rahilly’s were always in control, and Declan Quill, who earlier in the week had been acquitted of an assault charged, contributed four vital points. The winners now meet Nemo Rangers in the semifinal of the Munster championship.
Two late points secured the Meath title for Dunshaughlin who edged out Trim by 1-11 to 2-6. With the teams level in injury time, Niall Kelly kicked a magnificent point from a sideline ball and then David Crimmins secured Dunshaughlin’s victory with another point.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese