Category: Archive

N.Y. GAA Clare sinks Waterford in 2d half

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Clare 4-8, Waterford 1-6

Waterford kicked off their season versus Clare, hoping to recapture some of the magic they showed the Gaelic Park crowds last year. Having endured a difficult off season, where they lost the services of no fewer than 10 key players, Waterford, more than any of the senior clubs, have a battle on their hands this year.

They entered this senior hurling knockout competition as underdogs but with a fierce determination to overcome the odds. They took an early lead thanks to efforts from Cormac Murray, and the Waterford half back Dave Ryan.

Continuing upon this unexpected onslaught, Waterford registered another score from Murray, and a goal from Fintan O’Shea. All looked well for the south eastern side, as Clare took time to impose themselves upon the game.

Pat Kelly’s side commenced to find a rhythm however, and before long they had scores from the excellent John Kennedy, and an all important Joe Egan goal. Egan’s goal brought Clare right back into the tie, and at half time, they trailed their rivals by a mere two points.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

And so to the second half. Whatever it was that the Clare management said to their charges during the interval, it surely worked. Darren Doherty, playing his second game of the afternoon, was fantastic. He scored an early second half goal to move his side in front, and after that, Clare really had their opponents on the ropes.

Further goals from substitute Robbie Quinlivan and Paul Donovan enhanced Clare’s superiority, and points from Eddie Flynn, Joe Egan, Kennedy, and dual player Gary Dowd finished off the win.

Clare move into the next round, having convinced themselves that they are good enough for honors this season.

Clare: Barney Breen, Brian Adams, Noel McGovern, Pat Treacy, Seamus Pender, Marty McGlade, John Kennedy (0-4), Gary Dowd (0-1), Paul Burke, Eddie Flynn (0-1), Joe Egan (1-1), Paul Donovan (1-0), Darren Doherty (1-1). Subs: Robbie Quinlivan (1-0), Colm Walsh

Waterford: Donncha Crotty, Tom Bermingham, Tom Morrisey, Dave Ryan (0-1), Thomas Maher, Eoghan O’Connor, Kevin Martin, Cormac Murray (0-2), Mike O’Connor, Packie Roche, Michael O’Shea (0-1), Fintan O’Shea (1-2), Eoin O’Daly. Subs: Rory Connolly, Rory Hussy

Man of the match: John Kennedy (Clare)

Referee: Dermot Flynn

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese