Category: Archive

N.Y. GAA Longford eye playoffs

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Longford 1-16, Roscommon 0-12

A fabulous display from Longford’s John Hegarty capped another convincing win for Longford in this senior football Div. II game at Gaelic Park versus old rivals Roscommon.

Having gotten off to the worst possible start this season, Longford have picked themselves up, dusted their team down and gotten back into winning ways. After losing their first two games this season, Longford have now recorded three consecutive victories, and in doing so, have climbed right back up the table. They currently lie in fourth place, and are well within sight of a playoff spot.

Playing some great football throughout the first half, Longford looked on course for something of an easy victory with points being hammered over the bar, courtesy of Hegarty, Kevin Lilly and Trevor Smullen threatening Roscommon with a heavy defeat.

Roscommon, however, straightened up and had Maurice Sheridan to thank for climbing back into the game. Sheridan hit seven points for his side and, in the second half, Longford seemed in danger of throwing away their lead.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

With the returning Kevin Lilly spearheading the Longford attack, the side seemed more comfortable on the ball than they had at the start of the season. Though well in front in the first half, Roscommon’s comeback frightened Longford as the second period wore on. Scores from Hegarty to add to Lilly’s goal restored Longford’s lead.

As a result of this game, Longford are back in the hunt for playoff glory.

Roscommon, though not yet out, must garner points from their remaining games against the top sides if they are to slip past their opponents and into the post season rounds.

Longford: Gavin Tonra, Ciaran McGann (0-1), Philip Wallace, Neil Corbett, Dessie McGoldrick, Brendan Donohue (0-1), Barry Kavanagh, Brian O’Connor, Trevor Smullen (0-2), Kevin O’Brien, John Hegarty (0-6), Peter Staunton, Daragh Ferguson (0-1), Kevin Lilly (1-2), Brendan Lennon. Subs: Mike McKenna (0-2), Mike Sheridan, Aidan McGoldrick, Phil Bermingham, Dan Harrington, Sean Reen.

Roscommon: Mike Deere, Ollie Hoare, Ken Deacon, Joe Naughton, Declan Coyne, Pauric Mullally, Sean Carney, Don Connellan, Niall Finneran (0-3), DJ Brennan, Maurice Sheridan (0-7), Mark Gilmore, Donie Farrell, Richie Maher (0-2), Colm Kelly.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese