Category: Archive

N.Y. Minor Board St. Joe’s capture U-18 crown

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

The replay of the U-18 championship final at Rockland lacked the tension, drama, and excitement of the drawn game, with St. Joseph’s emerging victorious over St. Barnabas, 2-5 to 1-6. Player of the game Ian Young (St. Joseph’s) was the top marksman, scoring 1-3. Excelling also were captain Gerry Gillespie, Declan Gourley, Patrick Maguire (1-1), John Creegan (0-2), Declan Quinn, P.J. Ferris and Chris Clarke.

For St. Barnabas, Darren Meaney (0-5), Sean Moyles (1-0), Jamie Lally, Billy Donoghue (0-1), Ciaran Moyles, Adrian Clarke and Brian Coyne were best.

At Indian Field, Woodlawn, St. Raymond’s beat Rangers, 4-2 to 1-6, in the U-10 league.

St. Raymond’s was clearly the dominant team. Scorers were Stefan Mante (2-1), Padraig O’Connor (1-0), Edmund Kellagher (1-0), Thomas Enright (0-1). Goalkeeper Thomas Dewnear brought off some tremendous saves. Rangers fought gallantly and got great efforts from Ronan McGoldrick (1-2), Brendan Callinan (0-2), Shane O’Brien, Martin Lower and Denis Collins.

In the U-12 league, it was Rangers 5-5, St. Raymond’s 1-4. Outstanding for Rangers were Chris Cassels, Errol Akoi, Stephen Cassels, Sean Twomey, P.J. Wagner, Michael O’Sullivan, Chad Egan and Michael Corrigy. Kathleen Enright, Mark McCaffrey, Conor Brady caught the eye for St. Raymond’s.

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese