Category: Archive

New York hurlers fine tune for Down

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Pierce O’Reilly

New York "B" 4-14, New York "A" 2-8

New York hurling manager Kieran O’Sullivan put his charges through their paces in the second game at Gaelic Park on Sunday. This hurling challenge lived up to it’s billing and with several positions still up for grabs, it was keenly contested from the puck off.

The "B" side, captained by John Madden, were the first to score. Madden himself opened their account with a fine drive from 65 yards out. Full forward Kevin Kennedy then ut them two up and with their half forward line clearly in fine form.

Brian McCabe, who is out injured with a finger infection, drove his side on from the bench and after 10 minutes his side rattled the net for the first of their two goals. John Kennedy’s attempt for a point dipped under the crossbar and set the ball rolling for the "A" side. Further points from newcomer Tom Fitzgibbon (2) and Vinny Norton (3) gave McCabe’s men a comfortable 2-6 to 0-6 interval lead.

This tie opened up in the second half and with Bonny Kennedy finding his range Madden’s men soon had the deficit whittled away. Points from Kennedy, Callaghan, Cummins and Madden put the "B" side in front 2-6 to 1-11. The goal came from Kevin Kennedy, who was quickest to pull on the sliotar when it broke on the edge of the square.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

In the final quarter, the revival was completed with Bonny Kennedy and Madden each hitting a goal to round off an amazing second-half rally. McCabe’s men were left reeling in their boots, victims of power play and accurate shooting. Norton, who was their most consistent player, registered their two solidarity points of the half.

New York "A": Finbar Flood, Barry Smith, Peter Dalton, Brian Adams, Seamus Pender, John Nolan, Philip Wickham, Vinny Norton 0-5, John Kennedy 1-0, Tom Simms 0-1, Tom Fitzgibbon 1-2, Brian Green, Liam Briody, Sean Nolan, Darren Doherty.

New York "B": Steven O’Hare, Jimmy Lyons, Sean Shepard, John Riordan, Colm Reilly, Owen Cummins 0-1, Enda Condron, John Madden 1-6, Mark Comerford, Seamus Carey, Mike Kennedy, Bonny Kennedy 1-4, Tadhg Callaghan 0-2, Kevin Kennedy 2-1, Fintan O’Shea.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese