Category: Archive

NY GAA: Cup crosses ocean

February 17, 2011

By Staff Reporter

New York started well before the small crowd with target man Paddy Smith scoring one point and setting up Dave “Rooster” Rooney for a second. Smith would add three more points as New York got good performances from center back Matthew Mitchell, fullback Paul O’Connor, and midfielders Sean Lordan and James Mitchell. New York looked very much equal to the task, leading 0-5 to 0-4 at the halftime whistle.
GMIT looked sluggish after Saturday’s exertions in Rockland and when Robbie Moran opened the second half scoring with a long free for a New York point, it was easy to picture New York captain Pa Murphy raising the FBD Cup at the conclusion of the match.
Although both teams were trying hard the atmosphere at Gaelic Park seemed lacking. Minus a county side as opposition, the crowd seemed more subdued than in past years as the students began to come back at the home side.
Tech equalized on points from Alan Raferty and their top marksman Aiden Kilcoyne. New York were overpassing as they got away from the direct ball to Paddy Smith that had worked to their advantage in the first half.
Tadgh Collins and Tadgh Foley were introduced for Lordan, whose temper seemed to be getting the better of him, and surprisingly Vinny Gavin, who had played fairly well to that point.
Further points from Enda McMenamon and Kilcoyle put New York down 0-8 to 0-6 with eight minutes to play. Then disaster struck the Gotham men when a routine free inexplicably sailed over goalkeeper John McGinley’s head. Cornerback Niall Corbett managed to keep the ball out of the net but Richard Feeney would not be denied on the rebound.
That mistake was one New York could ill afford and would not recover from as the FBD League Cup returns with GMIT across the Atlantic.
New York will have to give a cleaner, crisper performance when they take on Tommy Murphy Cup winners Tipperary at Gaelic Park on Sunday, October23rd.
Man of the Match: Aidan Kilcoyne.
GMIT: Geoffrey Claffey, Matthew Flannery, Damien Healy, Brian Darby, Richie Feeney (1-1), Barry Prior, Alan Burke, Paul Geraghty, Alan Burke, Paudric Moran, Ger Heneghan, Aidan Kilcoyne (0-6, 4 fr), Joe Meehan, JP Steed, Ja Egan (0-1), Subs: Enda McMenamon (0-1), Darren Mullaghy, Alan Raftery (0-1).
New York: John McGinley, Niall Corbett, Paul O’Connor, Martin Donaghey, James McIntyre, Matthew Mitchell, Dave Rooney (0-1), Sean Lordan, James Mitchell, Cathal McKeever, Vinny Gavin, Pa Murphy, Robert Moran (0-1, fr), Mark Dobbin, Paddy Smith (0-4) Subs: Tadgh Collins, Tadgh Foley.
Referee: Vincent Neary.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese