Category: Archive

O’Connor amd his predecessors

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Cardinal John J. O’Connor was the 11th leader of the Roman Catholic Church in New York. Here are the bishops, archbishops and cardinals who have served in one of the nation’s most visible religious positions:

€ Bishop Luke Contanen (1808-1810). He was to be sent to New York from Europe, but never left Naples because of interference from Napoleon. He died in Naples in 1810.

€ Bishop John Connolly (1814-1835).

€ Bishop John Dubois (1826-1842).

€ Archbishop John Hughes (1842-1864). On July 19, 1850, he became the first leader of the diocese to be named archbishop of New York. Hughes laid the cornerstone for St. Patrick’s Cathedral in 1858, although it wouldn’t be finished for 50 years.

€ Cardinal John McCloskey (1864-1885). He became the first American cardinal on March 15, 1875.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

€ Archbishop Michael Corrigan (1885-1902). He oversaw the building of St. Joseph’s Seminary in Yonkers, dedicated in 1896.

€ Cardinal John Farley (1902-1918).

€ Cardinal Patrick Hayes (1919-1938).

€ Cardinal Francis Spellman (1939-1967). The longest serving archbishop, he was perhaps the Catholic Church’s most prominent American leader. He made the church a key player in labor and politics.

€ Cardinal Terence Cooke (1968-1983). Stricken with cancer, he quietly received chemotherapy for almost a decade before his death in 1983.

€ Cardinal John O’Connor (1984-2000).

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese