Category: Archive

O’Driscoll leads Cork to camogie crown

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Scoreline: Cork 4-9, Tipperary 1-9

The star of the show was Fiona O’Driscoll, whose three goals and two points made all the difference. And if O’Driscoll’s finishing was top class, Tipp were frustrated by a total of 10 wides. The losers were on top during the first half and an Emer McDonnell goal put them in the driver’s seat. However, Cork responded with O’Driscoll and Una O’Donoghue netting after the interval as the gap widened.
Meanwhile, Blackrock retained the Cork men’s senior hurling title with a 1-14 to 0-12 success against Newtownshandrum at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. With Alan Browne scoring 1-5, there were also key performances from Alan Cummins, Wayne Sherlock and Fergal Ryan.
Castletown took the Laois title with a 4-9 to 2-4 victory over Tinahinch and in Westmeath, Lough Lene Gaels took the Westmeath championship in dramatic style with two injury time goals in a 4-11 to 2-12 defeat of Castletowngeoghegan. In Kildare, Naas and Coill Dubh will have to meet again after a 0-8 draw.
In football, veteran Mickey Linden inspired Mayobridge to 2-14 to 0-9 victory over Rostrevor in the Down final, while Tullamore emerged victorious in Offaly thanks to a 1-8 to 0-8 success against Gracefield. The Louth title went to Mattock Rangers who beat St Bride’s 2-11 to 1-11 and in the Monaghan final, Clontibret and Maghercloone played out a 0-13 to 2-7 draw.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese