Category: Archive

Railway Cup Ulster defeats Leinster in Railway Cup

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Ulster 4-12, Leinster 3-1

Ulster emerged victors over Leinster on Sunday last in Van Cortland Park to become Railway cup champions for the first time. The first half was a close encounter with a mere point separating the sides at halftime. Ulster dominated the second half and increased their lead beyond Leinster’s reach. Leinster were, unfortunately, an understrength side with 13 players, but each player gave a 100 percent performance and did not make Ulster’s victory easy.

Best for Leinster were Gillian Bennett, Mary McEvoy, Mags Ryan, Marlese Fath, Mary Tuohy and Katie McEntee.

For Ulster, best were Louise Fox, Olive Wilson, Fiona Ward, Cathy and Joanne McKenna, Varina Carey and Clare Tracey.

Scorers for Ulster were Rosie O’Reilly 2-2, Joanne McKenna 2-3, Cathy McKenna 0-3, Clare Tracey 0-2 and Varina Carey 0-2.

Ulster Player of the Game: Louise Fox.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

Scorers for Leinster by: Gillian Bennett 2-1, Sharon Levins 1-0.

Leinster Player of the Game: Gillian Bennett.

Ulster lineout: Catherine Flood, Pauline Coleman, Olive Wilson, Fiona Ward, Monica Slevin, Louise Fox, Grace Kelly, Justine Clifford, Sharon Gallagher, Dervil Carey, Varina Carey, Joanne McKenna, Colette McGoldrick, Cathy McKenna and Rosie O’Reilly.

Leinster lineout: Marlese Fath, Laura Gannon, Caroline Conway-Bogue, Mags Ryan, Katie McEntee, Mary McEvoy, Joanna Hoenninger, Mary Tuohy, Ger Mahon, Gillian Bennett, Orla Doyle, Lisa Rowe, Sharon Levins and Linda Mullen.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese