Category: Archive

Rockland juniors rally past Rangers

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Two of the big three from the Junior Football ranks came face to face in a battle for supremacy that will ultimately lead to at least one of these sides reaching the playoffs. Rangers have gotten the results this season, but so far have yet to play to their full potential. Denis Tuomey’s side came up against a team that had previously held all-conquering Donegal to a draw recently at Gaelic Park. Coming into the tie, it was difficult to determine a favorite. Rangers clearly have wonderful individual footballers, but in their games to date, they have lacked that killer instinct that gels players together as a unit.

The game was never really there for the taking by either side. Rangers started off the stronger side, hitting points from Dave Phelan, Andrew Brady and John Henry, but Rockland replied thanks to over the bar efforts from Brian Gormley and Mike Prendergast. The match continued in a to-and-fro-type situation, with both teams knocking in scores, but just before halftime, Rangers stole a lead over their rivals with a well-taken 3-pointer from the boot of David Phelan. This goal was to prove the major difference between the sides, as though Rockland continued to fight back, Rangers continued to hold the 3-point advantage.

Leading at the break, Rangers held on to their lead throughout the second half and scores from substitute O’Shea and Andrew Brady kept the victory in sight for Tuomey’s men. All credit to both sides however, playing in such difficult conditions. Temperatures of 95 degrees, unbelievable humidity and the threat of an oncoming thunderstorm did little to prevent the free-flowing football. Rangers ran out 5-point victors, and in doing so, climb back to the top of the table. Bring on Donegal.

Rockland: Ray Lennon, Jimmy Dwyer, Tom O’Riordan, Shane McCauley, Tommy Acton, Denis McHugh, Sean Roche, Eamonn O’Hara, Paddy Corcoran, Dave Fitzgerald (0-2), Billy Horan, Emmet Woods, Sean Fitzpatrick, Brian Gormley (0-4), Peter Loughran (0-1). Subs: Tommy Fennell, Mike Prenderghast (0-1), Jimmy McGovern.

Rangers: Ger Crimmins, Malachy McHugh, Mike Rennicks, Phil Bermingham, Tomas Maher (0-1), Tom Bermingham, Lorcan Murray, Mike Bishop, John Henry, Dave Ryan (0-1), Dave Phelan (1-2), Dave Henry (0-1), Mike Sheridan (0-4), Cormac Murray. Subs: Fintan O’Shea (0-1), John Murphy, Robert Maloney.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese