Category: Archive

Scanlon a world champion

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mark Jones

Mark Scanlon became only the second Irish cyclist in history to win a world title when he sprinted home to take the World junior championship in Valkenburg, Holland, last weekend.

Previously, only the legendary Stephen Roche had reached the world pinnacle when he took the senior road race title in 1987, but now 18 year old Scanlon has joined Roche in an elite pairing.

In fact, Roche was on hand in Valkenburg to witness Scanlon’s magnificent triumph. The Sligo teenager saw off the might of a powerful Italian team and the Dutch favorite, Roy Stentins, when he jumped clear of the main bunch on the final lap.

Given that stars such as Greg Le Mond and Italy’s Roberto Visentini have been previous winners of the junior title, Scanlon seems assured of a bright future.

Limerick death

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

The former Limerick hurling All Star, Tommy Quaid, died last weekend having sustained head injuries in a fall. Forty-one year old Quaid distinguished himself over more than 20 years as Limerick’s top goalkeeper and he later served as manager of the county’s under 21 and minor teams. Quaid, who also won three National Hurling League medals in his lengthy career, fell while working on a building in Charleville, Co. Cork.

Six county hurling finals

A total of six county hurling finals were decided over the weekend with Mount Sion taking center stage by overwhelming Ballyduff by 3-19 to 0-10 in the Waterford decider.

Causway were winners in Kerry after a narrow 1-14 to 2-10 verdict against Crotta O’Neills, while Naomh Eoin regained the Carlow title by defeating Carlow Town 1-14 to 0-10. Lough Lene Gaels got the better of Clonkill in Westmeath by 1-10 to 0-9, Gortletteragh beat St Mary’s by 3-5 to 1-7 in Leitrim and the Roscommon championship went to Oran who were 2-10 to 2-7 winners over St Dominic’s.

In football, Kilmacud Crokes were impressive 1-16 to 0-13 winners of the Dublin title in the final against Na Fianna, while Dunboyne lifted the Meath county title for the first time when they defeated Oldcastle by 0-9 to 0-5 in a disappointing decider. There was also a first in Wexford when Fethard beat Gusserane by 1-9 to 1-6.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese