Category: Archive

Shannon capture rugby league title

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Shannon 21

Cork Constitution 17

By Mark Jones

DUBLIN — Shannon’s exalted place in Irish club rugby was reaffirmed last weekend at Lansdowne Road when they won the All-Ireland League title for the fifth time with a deserved victory over Cork Constitution.

Ahead by 13-0 after 10 minutes, and then 18-7 clear at the interval, Shannon had to withstand a courageous Constitution rally during the second half before sealing victory with a drop goal by out-half Niall McNamara.

There was even time for Mick Galwey to amble on for a substitute’s cameo, and while other Munster stalwarts such as Ronan O’Gara sat the final out in preparation for the European Cup decider at the end of the month, there was still a real edge to proceedings.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

As Cork Con struggled with their lineout, Shannon were soon motoring with a couple of Tom Cregan penalties and an intercept try by Colm McMahon. John Kelly gave Con some hope with a score form Conor Mahony’s long pass, but soon Shannon were back in control when John Lacey followed up a kick for his side’s second try.

Cork Con had the better of the second half, eventually narrowing the gap to a point thanks to a Joey Sheahan try, but McNamara kept his nerve to land the crucial drop goal nine minutes from the end.

Shannon: J. Lacey; T. Cregan, M. Lawlor, A. Thompson, M. McNamara; N. McNamara, D. Hegarty; M. Horan, J. Blaney, J. Hayes, B. Buckley, T. Hayes, A. Quinlan, C. McMahon, D. Quinlan. Sub: M. Galwey for Buckley, 55 mins.

Cork Con: B. Walsh; D. Dillon, J. Kelly, Cian Mahony, A. Horgan; Conor Mahony, B. O’Meara; I. Murray, F. Sheahan, J. O’Driscoll, D. O’Callaghan, M. O’Driscoll, J. Sheahan, J. Murray, U. O’Callaghan.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese