Category: Archive

Sligo get long-awaited victory

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Sligo 4-5

Cork 1-7

By Peter Nolan

Sligo finally got an official win on the books when they defeated Cork 4-5 to 1-7 in Senior B football action Sunday at Gaelic Park. Sligo’s previous time out had seen them route Longford, but then Longford disbanded, voiding the result.

Cork had already dropped their two opening matches and Liam Bermingham’s crew now face a relegation battle as their season winds down. This match opened in sloppy fashion as Sligo in particular were guilty of over elaboration.

Anto Treacy eventually hit the target, pointing for Sligo to open the scoring. The first-half action was close, but Sligo were raising green flags to Cork’s white. Darren Meaney got on the end of a good Sligo move featuring Dave Farrell and Ronan O’Rielly for Sligo’s first 3-pointer.

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

O’Reilly was a huge thorn in Cork’s side, playing the proverbial blinder for Mike Burke’s side. Dermot Harrington was also effective for Sligo in the middle of the park, and his high field was outstanding. Sligo’s second goal came when adventurous cornerback Conor Healy shook the twines after picking up a loose ball in the Cork square.

Cork trailed 2-3 to 0-4 at the break and fell further behind on another Meaney goal soon after the restart. To their credit, Cork fought back. Points from Barry Brennan, substitute Sean Healy and Frank Hannify set the stage for a Rebel goal from Tadgh O’Callaghan. But Cork could get no closer and Meaney’s third goal clinched the victory for Sligo.

Co-Men of the Match: Darren Meaney and Ronan O’Reilly.

Sligo: Ronan Garvey, Brian Montgomery, Dave Garvey, Conor Healy (1-0), Robie McCabe, Tony Nolan, Kevin Hegarty, Dermot Harrington, Ronan O’Reilly, Anto Treacy, Ryan Cunningham (0-1), Dave Farrell, Darren Meaney (3-4), Paul Doyle. Subs: David Cascadden, Kieran Kilgannon.

Cork: Jeremy Holland, Derek Keefe, C.J. Doherty, Andy Mullins, Enda Lally, Liam Hanley, Paddy Harrington, Dennis Kiely, Jamie Lally (0-1), Frank Hannify (0-1), Stephen O’Shea (0-1), Barry Brennan (0-1), Tadgh O’Callaghan (1-1), Mike McCarthy (0-1), Brendan Wiley. Sub: Sean Healy (0-1).

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese