Category: Archive

Sligo join Kerry in Div. II final

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Sligo defeated Offaly for the second time this year and, in doing so, qualified for the Div. II final, in which the Yeats County has the unenviable task of facing Kerry.

Having witnessed their junior counterparts draw with Astoria earlier in the day, the Sligo club was disappointed not to have made it another double victory, as they did a few weeks back.

With dangerman Ciaran Whelan on a sanction, Sligo opened with scores from Steven Healy, Mike Lawlor, and a brace of points from Kevin O’Neill to hold a lead over their opponents.

Offaly fought back a little, and efforts from Brendan Moran, John Higgins, Barry Mooney and Danny Leavy brought their side back into the fray, though a late first-half goal from Steven Healy and two points from a prolific Kevin O’Neill gave Sligo an enormous boost going into the interval.

At half time, Bosco Walsh’s side led by a score of 1-6 to 0-5.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

Introducing Dave Reynolds in the second half paid dividends for Offaly, though his tally of five second-half points could not prevent the Sligo side from moving further and further ahead.

Whelan grabbed a late goal for Sligo, following some fine attacking moves from Conor Healy, O’Neill and Stephen Healy, which all resulted in points.

Offaly’s Reynolds appeared to engage in a one man scoring mission in a belated attempt to bring his side back into the game, hitting five consecutive second-half points for his team. Reynolds valiant effort proved in vain however, as while he was knocking them over for Offaly, Sligo continued to direct efforts in at the other end.

It is a tribute to Offaly that all six of their forwards got onto the scoresheet, even if the efforts of Moran, Lynch, Leonard Mooney, Danny Leavy, Barry Mooney and Glennon proved futile where further advances on the championship are concerned.

Sligo will now face Kerry in the Division 2 final, a game not to be missed. It’s naturally expected that the two sides will have a number of big names out from home for this tie, so a large crowd is anticipated at Gaelic Park.

Offaly: Kieran Farrelly, Mark Dolan, Enda Condron, Pat Leavy, Michael Dolan, Sean Nolan, Conor Mooney, Colm Scanlon, John Higgins (0-1), Paul Glennon (0-1), Barry Mooney (0-1), Danny Leavy (0-2), Leonard Mooney (0-1), Brendan Lynch (0-1), Brendan Moran (0-1). Sub.: David Reynolds (0-5), Danny Sheehan.

Sligo: Dermot Fleming, John McKenzie, Shane Kearney, John Cribben, Mark Doyle, Mark Shanahan, Donal Cassidy (0-1), Ciaran Whelan (1-1), Enda Henry, Kevin O’Neill (0-7), Stephen Healy (1-2), Noel Fitzgerald, Peter Brennan, Mike Lawlor (0-1), Conor Healy (0-1). Subs.: Dean O’Connor, Ray Reynolds (0-1).

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese