Category: Archive

St. Brendan’s deny Barnabas lads U-12 league title

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter


St. Barnabas got on the scoreboard first with an Anthony Ciena goal in the fourth minute. Both teams were only starting to adapt to the cold and damp conditions in these early stages. But after Brendan Flynn opened the St. Brendan’s scoring with a fine point in the sixth minute, the teams began to settle down.
St. Brendan’s took control midfield. In the 10th minute, center forward Brendan Flynn sent a sizzler across the St. Barnabas square to A.J. Murphy, who buried it past goalkeeper Kevin Hallinan.
For the next 10 minutes, both teams had many fine attacking movements, but the defenses held. Conor Hogan, Willy Reidy, Kevin Chambers and Patrick Hallinan were superb in the St. Barnabas back line. On the opposite end of the field, T.J. McPike, Alex Laird, Nial Harding, John DeCourcey and Tom O’Connell were stalwarts.
In the 20th minute, Sean Reilly split the post for a point from a 21-yard free for St. Brendan’s. Three minutes later, Brendan Carr received the ball after a fine series of passes and blasted a great goal for St. Brendan’s.
The Monroe, N.Y., were now in control 2-2 to 1-0. Their midfield duo of Reilly and Boyle were still on top in that sector despite the best efforts of Brian McGovern and Mickey Butler. Shane Flanagan and Jack Hannon of St. Barnabas had a few chances but were unable to capitalize. St. Brendan’s added three more points before halftime, one from Carr and two from Reilly, to take a 2-5 to 1-0 lead at the half.
St. Barnabas began the second half with zest and seemed determined to erase St. Brendan’s lead. Jack Hannon converted a 21-yard free for the Woodlawn crew and four minutes later a thundering shot from his left boot hit the crossbar and, to the relief of the St. Brendan’s supporters, hopped over the bar for a point.
For the first time, St. Barnabas were gaining the upper hand in ball possession, but the St. Brendan’s defense but did not break and, in the 41st minute, Reilly added another point for Brendan’s against the run of play. From the ensuing kick out, St. Barnabas attacked with venom and a neat passing movement involving Brian McGovern, Anthony Ciena, Liam Deane and Shane Flanagan found the ball in Hannon’s possession inside his opponent’s 14-yard-line. A goal seemed likely, but fullback Alex Laird blocked Hannon’s left-footed attempt. From the 45-meter free that followed, Hannon again gained possession, was fouled and converted the free. This put only two goals between the teams. But St. Brendan’s responded quickly and Carr again found the back of the net with a well-taken goal.
In the 50th minute Reilly kicked another 21-yard free over the bar to extend his team’s lead.
St. Barnabas fullback Pat Hallinan saved a certain goal with a valiant block on the stroke of fulltime.
St. Brendan’s: Nial Croke, Mike Lincoln, Alex Laird, Nial Harding, T.J. McPike, John DeCourcey, Tom O’Connell, Jamie Boyle, Sean Reilly, Zach Williams, Brendan Flynn, Steve Boyle, Ryan Lichtman, Brendan Carr, A.J. Murphy, John Brosnan, D. Croke, P. Laird, B. Morris and Christine Boyle.
St. Barnabas: Kevin Hallinan, Kevin Chambers, Patrick Hallinan, James Hannon, Brendan McMorrow, Willy Reidy, Conor Hogan, Brian McGovern, Mickey Butler, Padraig McDaid, Anthony Ciena, Shane Flanagan, Daniel McEleaney, Jack Hannon, Liam Deane, Frankie McDermott and Gerard Hurley.

St. Barnabas defeated Rockland in a closely contested and competitive match. St. Barnabas opened the scoring with a 21-yard free from Danny Kocaj in the sixth minute. From the ensuing kick out, corner forward Chris McKiernan won possession and kicked a wonderful point to put St. Barnabas ahead by 2 points. Rockland keeper Kevin Seeney and his counterpart from Woodlawn, Kevin Hallinan, were steady and made easy work of any ball that was sent their way.
For Rockland, Captain Sean White, Paul Rolston, and Emmett Woods excelled in front of their keeper. St. Barnabas had many star defenders, most notably Tom Brady, Pat Hallinan, Brian McGovern, Willy Reidy and Danny Kocaj.
With 5 minutes left, Rockland missed a great goal opportunity and St. Barnabas counterattacked and Thomas McGovern scored a point from a 21-yard free. Richie Schmidt closed out the scoring with a blistering goal.
St. Barnabas: Kevin Hallinan, Pat Hallinan, Tom Brady, Willy Reidy, Brian McGovern, Danny Kocaj, Gary Dunleavy, Tom Neillus, Tom McGovern, Bobby Chambers, Richie Schmidt, Padraig McDaid, Chris McKiernan, Mike McMorrow and Jack Hannon.
Rockland: Kevin Seeney, Robert Daly, John White, Brendan Canty, Paul Rolston, Emmett Woods, John Kerley, Michael O’Sullivan, Stephen Spellman, Sean McGrath, Nick Mangan, Brian Warner, Emmett McGrade, Conor Whelan, Martin Linnane, Sinead Cawley, Liam Corrigan and Claire Corrigan.

The Bronx team set the tempo early and raced to a 7-point lead. As the game advanced, St. Raymond’s began to dominate between the 50-yard markers and before long their superior possession was evident. They began to wear down the Rockland defenders and took their scores to complement their efforts.
St. Raymond’s: Chris Clarke, Shane McDonnell, Justin Murray, Shane O’Neill, Mike McVane, Michael Greaney, Patrick O’Driscoll, James Farrelly, James Huvane, Peter Cassels, Brian Denneny, Russell Greene, Steven Greaney, Mike Sullivan, Brendan Creegan and James Simpson.
Rockland: Patrick Seeney, Terence Moore, Billy Cosgrove, Matt Pogeweit, Brian Walsh, Chris Keahon, Brendan Murphy, Ray Bader, Brendan McManus, Dan O’Malley, Paul McGrath, Mike Cannon, Pat Murphy, Anthony Putnick and Brian McNamara.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese