Category: Archive

Tipperary overpowers Waterford to reach hurling final

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Waterford’s brave attempt at securing a place in New York’s senior hurling final came crashing when Tipperary turned on the style to run out winners in this pulsating clash at Gaelic Park on Sunday.

Tipperary have turned in some excellent performances this year and were surefire favorites to clinch this one too.

Waterford, many felt, were merely playing for pride. However, that idea went out the window midway through the first half. Tipp hit a goal and five points without reply thanks to Mark O’Leary, Liam Cahill, Owen Cummins and a goal from Kevin Kennedy.

Waterford’s Henry Sheflin got his side off the mark with a goal and two points, swiftly followed by efforts from Ken McGrath, Dave Sweeney and Mike Curtin. We had a game on our hands. Waterford should really have taken a half-time lead but some poor shooting resulted in five consecutive efforts sailing wide.

Points from Waterford’s Sheflin and Sweeney finished off their first half scoring, but Tipp surged ahead into a four point half time lead thanks to Kevin Kennedy’s second goal and points from Cahill and Carroll.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

Waterford opened the second half as the stronger of the two sides and hit points from the hurleys of Dave Ryan, Sheflin, Ken McGrath and Michael Coleman to move back into the tie.

Tipp replied through John Slattery’s goal, and five points from Cahill and O’Leary to retain their four point advantage.

Sweeney hit a point for Waterford, and Sheflin missed a golden opportunity to level the tie with a cracking shot which fired just wide.

Tipp substitute Paul Hogan knocked in a goal which really proved to be the deathknell for Waterford, and a couple of points from O’Leary and Carroll wiped out McGrath’s late efforts to give Tipp a hard-fought victory.

Tipperary: Ian Duggan, Donal Cummins, Jim Lyons, Shane Ryan, Owen Cummins (0-1), Seamus Collison, John Madden, Alan Slattery (0-1), Mark O’Leary (0-4), Michael Kennedy, Michael Carroll (0-2), Kevin Kennedy (2-0), Liam Cahill (0-8). Subs: John Slattery (1-0), Paul Hogan (1-0).

Waterford: Kevin Martin, Thomas Bermingham, Michael Coleman (0-1), Dave Ryan (0-1), Richie Purcell, Jojo Sullivan, Jimmy Duggan, Thomas Maher, Dave Sweeney (0-3), Jason Barry, Ken McGrath (0-5), Henry Sheflin (1-7), Mike Curtin (0-1). Sub: Fintan O’Shea.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese