Category: Archive

Brady back on board for New York’s All-Ireland bid

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Leitrim supremo Frank Brady will continue at the helm as New York manager as the Big Apple’s footballers attempt to prove themselves worthy All-Ireland participants when they oppose 1998 All Ireland winners Galway next year.

Pat Scanlon of Clare will remain as selector, where he will be more than ably assisted by the much-admired Kerry manager, Paddy Kearney, who led his charges to the kingdom’s first senior football championship in New York since 1967. Leslie McGettigan of Donegal will continue in his role as trainer. A panel of 25 to 30 players will be selected in the coming weeks, and training will begin shortly afterward.

GAA elections

The annual GAA elections will take place this year on Dec. 5, with voting from 2-4 p.m. All clubs submitted their candidates for the positions last Thursday at the Lansdowne Bar.

Following is a list of all candidates and the positions they are seeking to capture:

Never miss an issue of The Irish Echo

Subscribe to one of our great value packages.

President (1): Monty Moloney (Rangers), Terry Connaughton (Roscommon).

Vice President (1): John Moore (Westmeath), Liam Bermingham (Cork).

Second Vice President (1): Sean Guinan (Offaly), Tom Nugent (Westmeath).

Treasurer (1): Dermot Flynn (Offaly)

Recording Secretary (1): John Cox (Celtics)

Corresponding Secretary (1): Ann Marie O’Dowd (Stamford)

Registrar (1): Tom Cahill (Cavan), Donie O’Sullivan (Celtics)

Custodian (1): Seamus Dooley (Monaghan)

Auditors (3): Pat Ryan (St Raymonds), Pat Kiely Rockland, Mike Cassidy (Donegal), Frank Molloy (Donegal), Tom Williams (Stamford), Peter McKiernan (Cavan), John Marron (Sligo) Paul Tuffy (Sligo).

Trustees (3): Jimmy Naughton (Roscommon), Noel Lennon (Longford), Gary Allen (Sligo), Tommy Fahey (Waterford), Brendan O’Sullivan (Limerick), Teresa Crowe (Tipperary).

Delegates for Congress (3): Brendan O’Sullivan (Limerick), Bosco Walsh (Sligo)

John O’Riordan (Kerry), Mike Cassidy (Donegal), Dessie Costello (Westmeath)

Paddy Sheanon (Cavan), Gary Allen (Sligo), Seamus Dooley (Monaghan), Anne Marie Dowd (Stamford).

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese