Category: Archive

Cauldwell’s goal savesthe day for Limerick

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mike Fitzpatrick

Limerick eventually triumphed in this evenly matched senior hurling encounter that produced 13 points for each side, but the all-important only goal went to Limerick, thanks to corner forward Paul Cauldwell.

Limerick, on the crest of a three-game winning streak going into Sunday’s game at Gaelic Park, assured themselves of a place in the championship semifinal with this well-fought victory over Waterford.

Waterford themselves proved to be no slouches against this rampant Limerick side and held the lead more than once, but with Limerick’s Sims (0-2) and Fahey (0-7) in such great form for their club, it was never going to be easy for the Waterford men.

One of the more unsung heroes of this Limerick side has been Brendan Cagney, whose never-say-die spirit against Waterford yielded good results on his side of the pitch. Cagney fought a running battle throughout the game with his opponents, and with his tenacious display and those of his colleagues, it is not surprising that Limerick have been regularly winning through in their games.

Waterford did, however, hold the lead during the game due to the hard work of Fintan O’Shea and Mark Coleman, who each finished up on the scoresheet. Eanna O’Sullivan scored two points for Limerick, and halfback Tom Canty joined him on the scoresheet.

Sign up to The Irish Echo Newsletter

It proved to be Cauldwell’s late goal that provided the knockout punch for Limerick and, though Waterford can argue that at times they were indeed the better side on the pitch, at the end of the day it was Limerick who proved themselves the better side.

Limerick goalkeeper Finbar Flood kept his side in reach of victory with a string of good saves and intelligent play, denying the Waterford players Fintan O’Shea and Pádraic Lawlor on numerous occasions.

Limerick scorers: Fahey 0-7, O’Sullivan 0-2, Sims 0-2, Cauldwell 1-0, Shiels 0-1, Canty 0-1.

Waterford: O’Shea 0-4, Coleman 0-3, Pádraig Lawlor 0-2, Richard Purcell 0-2, Jason Lawler 0-1, Ollie O’Neill 0-1.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese