Category: Archive

Doonbeg gives Clare a Munster double

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

By Mark Jones

Doonbeg (Clare) 0-7, Moyle Rovers (Tipp) 0-4

Doonbeg made history at the Gaelic Grounds last weekend when they became the first club from Clare to win the Munster club football title. Doonbeg’s success was all the more sweet for Clare coming just a fortnight after St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield’s took the hurling championship for the county.

Having survived the first game thanks to a late goal, Doonbeg made no mistake in what was a lackluster replay. They closed out Moyle Rovers’ dangerman, Declan Browne, most effectively, and despite having Brendan Lynch sent off in the 14th minute, Doonbeg were always the dominant force.

There was no panic following Lynch’s dismissal for a dangerous foul on Jimmy Dunne, as the winners defended superbly, with Padraig Conway cleverly cutting off the supply of ball to Browne. Meanwhile, Francis McInerney marshalled the attack with some pinpoint distribution.

"This is the greatest day in the club’s history," said Doonbeg’s manager, Pat Hanrahan. "We’ve toiled long and hard and if any club deserves a Munster title, we do.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

"When 14 beats 15, we can only say the best team won," conceded Moyle’s Derry Foley. "Maybe we stuck too much to the game plan of hand-passing. They closed us down at every opportunity. It was a brilliant display."

Following three earlier defeats at the provincial final stage, Doonbeg now go on to meet Ballina Stephenites from Mayo in the All-Ireland semifinal.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese