Category: Archive

Minor Board Barnabas win U12 title; Rangers are U10 champs

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

Sunday’s U12 League Final at Paddy’s Field, played in glorious weather before a large and enthusiast crowd, saw St. Barnabas outduel St. Raymond’s, 3-4 to 2-5, to capture the league title.

The first half was all St. Raymond’s. Stephen Greaney, David Nuble, Matt Featherstone, Mike Delano, John Greaney, Brendan Murphy, and John Kilfeather were outstanding as St. Ray’s ran out to a 1-5 to 0-2 lead. Scores were by Stephen Greaney (1-2), David Noble (0-1) and Brendan Murphy (0-1).

Switches by the St. Barnabas mentors at the half proved effective. A movement sparked by Joe Groziosa and including Brendan Mulroy, Joe Hallinan, Kevin Hannon and Tom McGovern ended with McGovern planting the ball in the St. Ray’s net. Another point from the sure foot of McGovern left a kick of the ball between the sides. Again St. Raymond’s took the game to their more illustrious opponents, only to have a goal disallowed for a square infringement. A movement out of defense by John Greaney, Brian McArdle, Chris Hughes, John Kilfeather, Brendan Murphy, Steven Greaney put David Nuble clear, picking his spot for a great goal.

At the end it was St. Barnabas ability to take scores proved the difference.

St Raymond’s: Karl Nedenayer, John Greaney, Mike Delano, Martin Rafferty, Brian McArdle, Matt Featherstone, David Martin, David Nuble 1-0, Stephen Greaney 1-2, John Kilfeather, 0-1, Chris Hughes, Brendan Murphy 0-1 Terrence Claney, Brian Dennehy, Shane McDonnell. Peter Smith, Jim Brophy. Mark McCaffrey.

St. Barnabas: James Jundello, Chris Stack, Joe Graziosa, Brendan Mulroy, Anthony Catabiano, Anthony Calarco, Joe Hallinan, Kevin Hannon 1-0, Greg Bogner, Jimmy Neilus 1-0, Gary Harrison, Tom McGovern 1-2, Tom Brady, Barry Sullivan 0-2, Nathan Reit, Pete Shea, Dan Helbig, Brian McGovern.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

Barnabas wins exciting semi

In one of the most exciting U12 games in memory, evenutal champs St. Barnabas edged Celtics, 3-3 to 2-5, in last Wednesday’s semifinal at Paddy’s Field in Woodlawn.

Particularly noteworthy was great team work by both sides, the displays of Ciara McArdle and goalkeeper Kate Hochman’s outstanding double save for Celtics, which left the teams level at 1-2 at the half.

In the second half, Peter Reph, Brian Slattery, Doug Sheerin, C.J. Molloy and Michael Dormer combined to kick over three long-range points. Kevin Hegarty sent a long clearance to Peter Reph, who in turn sent a perfect ball to Brian Slattery, who unleashed a rocket to the roof of the St. Barnabas net.

A couple of fluffed chances by Celtics followed, and suddenly the pendulum swung. With Kevin Hannoi and Greg Bogner getting a grip at centerfield, St. Barnabas gained in confidence. Joe Groziosa, Brendan Mulroy, Joe Hallinan and Barry Sullivan, whose two second-half goals, and Jimmy Neilis, whose point sealed the victory, were outstanding for the Woodlawn boys.

St. Barnabas: James Jandello, Chris Stack, Joe Graziosa, Brendan Mulroy, Anthony Catabiano, Anthony Colarco, Joe Hallinan, Kevin Hannon, Grey Brogne, Jimmy Neilis, Gary Harrison, Tom McGovern, Tom Brady, Barry Sullivan, Nathan Reit.

Celtics: Kate Hochman, Brian Hegarty, Kevin Hegarty, James Farrelly, Patrick Duffy, Ciara McArdle, Michael McVann, Peter Reph, Brian Slattery, Doug Sheerin, C.J. Molloy, Michael Dormer, Matt Purcell, Conor McKeon, Chris Colleran.

Rangers win U10 final

On Sunday, Rangers added the league trophy, to their championship trophy with a 3-4 to 1-2 victory over St. Barnabas in the U10 Final. Both the championship and league are firsts for Rangers in their 27-year history. Credit for their success at the level has to go to Manager Denis Twomey, who has his players razor sharp. The team was led by rock solid backs, among them Player of the Year Steven Cassels, and the midfield pairing og Lorean Malone and Chris Cassels. All six forward can knock over scores from all angles.

Scorers for Rangers were Erol Akiski 1-0, Kevin O’Driscoll 0-1, Sean Twomey 0-1, Matt Anderson 0-1, Lorean Malone 0-1, and Chris Cassels 1-0. Fullback Peter Woods was also solid.

St. Barnabas were best served by fullback Tommy Brady, James Zindelli, Bobby Chambers, Jack Hannon 0-1, Kevin Hallinan 1-0, and

Joe Delaney 0-1.

Ranger’s: Eamon Nugent, Ronan McGoldrick, Peter Woods, P.J. Wagner, Denis McGoldrick, Steven Cassels, Pierce Cassels, Chris Cassels, Lorean Malone, Kevin O’Driscoll, Sean Twomey, Erol Akiski, Tim Lynch, Mike Carrigy, Matt Anderson, Padraig Phelan, Mike O’Sullivan. St. Barnabas: James Zindelli, Padraig McDaid, Tommy Brady, Gerald Dunleavy, Brian McGovern, Bobby Chambers, Mick Butler, Thomas McGovern, Thomas Neilus, Mike Reit, Brian Burns, Willy Reidy, Jack Hannon, Joe Dunleavy, Pat Hallinan, Kevin Hallinan.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese