Category: Archive

Off the Field Minors to honor Ronayne, Forrest

February 16, 2011

By Staff Reporter

The New York GAA Minor Board will hold their 31st annual awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 20, at the Polish Community Center, 92 Waverly St., Yonkers.

The guests of honor are Patrick J. Ronayne, owner of PLN Contracting, and Jeremiah G. Forrest, vice president of Netversant. Save Hannon of the St. Barnabas Football Club will receive the James O’Sullivan Award.

The evening opens with a cocktail hour at 8 p.m., followed by dinner at 9 and dancing to Celtic Justice until 1 a.m. Tickets are $65. For details, call Peter Jones at (201) 692-9837, Denis Twomey at (212) 535-6620, Patrick Ryan at (914) 237-8706 or P.J. Dennehy at (718) 325-1998.

Kerry dance

The Sam Maguire Cup, symbol of Gaelic football supremacy, will be back in New York for the Kerry Football Club’s annual dinner dance, which will be held Feb. 17 at Astoria World Manor in Queens.

The Kerry club are honoring super-sub Maurice Fitzgerald from St. Mary’s Caherciveen after his contributions during the All-Ireland series. In addition to Fitzgerald, the club will honor Cyril Kearney of Cloghane, Castlegregory, as Clubman of the Year. Senior Player of the Year is Johnny O’Driscoll of Annascaul, Castlegregory. The Junior Player of the Year is Liam Hartnett, who was born in Dublin and lived in Eoin Ruas, Templeglantine, Co. Limerick.

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date with the latest news with The Irish Echo

The festivities will begin at 8 p.m. with a cocktail hour. There will be music by Shannon Breeze. Tickets are $75 per person.

This year’s double celebrations will include a few members of the recent victorious All-Ireland Champions and N.Y. Junior "B" title holders.

There will be a souvenir journal. For details, call Anne Holland at (914) 776-4359. Tickets are available from Kathleen Curtin ([914] 395-1465), Jim O’Donnell ([718] 828-7764) or John Riordan ([718] 492-3270).

Raffle tickets are available from Jim Mackessy ([718] 828-0077), Paddy O’Connor ([718] 729-9242), Joan Henchy ([914] 476-7452) or P.J. Mulvihill ([718] 994-6645).

Mayo AGM at Lansdowne

The New York Mayo GAA club will hold their annual AGM Jan. 21 at 3 p.m. at the Landsdowne. Anyone interested in finding out more about the club or helping out in any capacity this year should contact club secertary Kathleen Rowland at (914) 237 9387 or Pat Gavin at (914) 237 9372.

Leitrim F.C. dance

The New York Leitrim Football Club will hold their annual dinner dance Jan. 27 at M’stro’s in Morris Park. The guest of honor is Paddy Gormley, a native of Aughnassheelin, Co. Leitrim, who has been a GAA player, coach, referee and administrator in his three decades with the New York GAA. Joe Taylor will receive the Joe McInerney Memorial Award.

For details, call Frank Brady at (914) 963-8729.

Millrose tix on sale

Tickets are now available for the 94th running of the Millrose Games. The nation’s greatest indoor track meet is set for Feb. 2, 2001 at Madison Square Garden. Held annually since 1908, the Millrose Games is the second stop on the indoor leg of USATF’s "Golden Spike Tour" and is the longest running sporting event in Madison Square Garden’s history.

Tickets will be available at the Madison Square Garden box office at (212) 465-MSGI and at Ticketmaster outlets. Local ticketmaster information and Ticketmaster charge-by-phone numbers are (212) 307-7171, (201) 507-8900, (914) 454-3388 and (203) 624-0033, or visit their website www.ticketmaster.com Ticket prices are $25, $35, $50, $70.

Throughout its 93-year history, the Millrose Games have featured some of track and field’s greatest legends, including Eamon Coghlan, Jesse Owens, Jackie-Joyner Kersee, Carl Lewis, Gwen Torrence and Mary Decker-Slaney.

Other Articles You Might Like

Sign up to our Daily Newsletter

Click to access the login or register cheese